A young woman dressed in traditional Alaska Native clothing and furs stands against a body of water.
A young woman speaks on a stage from behind a podium.

The ACLU of Alaska has selected two students, Teressa Baldwin of Kotzebue and Lena Illig of Anchorage, as its 2015 Joan Hamilton Memorial Scholars.

This annual scholarship, established by the ACLU of Alaska in the memory of its former board member, Joan Hamilton, promotes and supports the education of Alaska students who wish to pursue a career related to the law, advocate for Alaska Native rights, and defend the constitutional rights and civil liberties of the peoples of rural Alaska.
Against a field of competitive applicants, Teressa and Lena stood out. Teressa is a college student at the University of California, San Diego where she is studying law and society with plans to return to Alaska and pursue an advanced degree at UAF. Lena, a UAA student, is pursuing a criminal justice degree and hopes to become an Alaska State Trooper. We are proud to support both of their studies.
To learn more about Joan Hamilton and her tireless advocacy for the rights of Alaska Native peoples, please read our press release.